Meet our Council Members

Maree Bredhauer


Maree Bredhauer

0437 517 709
Christine Simpson

Deputy Mayor, Central Ward

Christine Simpson

0417 805 302
Kirsty Sayers-Hunt

Councillor, East Ward

Kirsty Sayers-Hunt

0418 956 791
Doug Barden

Councillor, South Ward

Doug Barden

0429 875 390
Mathew Salter

Councillor, North Ward

Mathew Salter

0408 093 838

Role of members

The role of a member of a council is:

  • to represent the interests of all residents and ratepayers of the council area; and
  • to provide leadership and guidance; and
  • to facilitate communication between the member of the council's constituency and the council; and
  • to participate in the deliberations of the council and its community activities; and
  • to ensure, as far as practicable, that the council acts honestly, efficiently and appropriately in carrying out its statutory responsibilities.

However, a member of the council has no power to direct or control staff, or to interfere with the management of staff.

A member of the council has a duty to act, at all times, in what the members genuinely believes to be the best interests of the council's constituency.

Pursuant to Section 59 of the Local Government Act 2019, the role of the Mayor, or in their absence.

Role, Appointment and Term of Deputy Mayor


The Council is made up of five Elected Members one of whom is the Mayor. They represent the residents from Litchfield's four electoral wards. All are elected by the people. General elections are held every four years.

Role of Principal Member (Mayor)

The role of the Principal Member of a council is:

  • to chair meetings of the council; and
  • to speak on behalf of the council as the council's principal representative; and
  • to carry out the civic and ceremonial functions of the Principal Member.

Role of Deputy Principal (Mayor)

The role of the Deputy Mayor is in the absence of the Principal (Mayor) to:

  • to chair meetings of council;
  • to speak on behalf of council as the council's principal representative; and
  • to carry out the civic and ceremonial functions of the Principal Member.

Note: The Deputy Mayor shall be appointed for a period of one-year.

Role of Councillors

Councillors have a number of different roles that must incorporate the interests of the whole Municipality and those of their constituents. They play a vital leadership role in creating and implementing their community's vision, strategic direction and values.

Code of Conduct

Under Sections 119 and Schedule 1 of the Local Government Act 2019, Elected Members of Council will be committed to conducting themselves in a way that demonstrates the highest ethical.

Code of Conduct for Elected Members »


Pursuant to Part 7.2 Interests of the Local Government Act 2019, the following registers are required to be kept and maintained by the Chief Executive Officer and published on the Council website.

Annual Returns of Interest Register

An Annual return of interest is any interest a Council Member may have as specified by the Local Government (General) Regulations 2021.

Annual Returns of Interest Register »

Gifts and Benefits Register

Gifts and benefits are gifts Council Members may receive in the course of their duties as per Council’s policy EM07 CEO and Council Member Gifts, Benefits and Hospitality.

Gifts and Benefits Register »

Disclosure of Interest Register

A conflict of interest occurs when a Council Members personal interests could compromise their judgement or decisions in the course of their duties. Council Members are required to disclose their interest as per Section 115 of the Local Government Act 2019.

Disclosure of Interest Register »


In accordance with the Guideline 2A: Council member allowances, Litchfield Council will adopt the Ministerial guidelines for fees and allowances under the transitional arrangement as per Section 353 of the Local Government Act 2019.

Council at its special meeting held 30 June 2021 resolved to:

Adopt the Ministerial guidelines for fees and allowances as per below.

Allowance TypeCouncillorDeputy MayorMayor
Annual Base Allowance$13,509.96$27,776.12$75,116.61
Annual Electoral Allowance$4,943.73$4,943.73$19,771.29
Extra Meeting Allowance$9,006.64     -    -
Annual Professional Allowance$3,753.17$3,753.17$3,753.17
Total Maximum Claimable$31,213.50$36,473.02$98,641.07

The total amount budgeted is $228,754.59

Base allowance covers those activities required of a Council member in the performance of his or her role as an elected representative. Without limiting the generality of the preceding sentence, the base allowance covers:

  1. agenda study and meeting preparation;
  2. attendance at regular Council and committee meetings;
  3. attendance at social functions as a Council representative;
  4. constituency responsibilities; and
  5. Council representation outside the Municipality area, including delegations interstate and overseas, unless such representation has extra meeting approval.

Electoral Allowance is provided to assist Elected Members with electoral matters. It may be used at the discretion of individual Elected Members.

Extra Meeting Allowance shall be paid in accordance with Council Policy. This Extra Meeting Allowance is capped for each financial year pursuant to the Table of Maximum Allowances provided by the Minister for Local Government for the applicable financial year.

Professional Development Allowance is payable to Elected Members to attend approved conferences and training courses which sustain a member’s professional competence and able to comply with professional standards applicable to their role as a member of council.