Litchfield Municipality is situated on the outskirts of Darwin amid tropical rural bushland, enjoying a rural lifestyle with a wide range of well managed services and facilities available to its residents and visitors.

Spread over 3,100sqkm, Litchfield is rapidly growing, offering larger land parcels for families and is currently home to over 20,000 people. Litchfield residents enjoy a rural lifestyle which combines a mix of rural residential, horticultural, agricultural and industrial interests within its boundaries.

Litchfield Council is the local government council responsible for planning and delivery of a range of services, such shown below:

What's in this section

If you notice an abandoned vehicle on a council road in your neighbourhood, you can report it directly to Council by calling 8983 0600 during business hours. Find out more

Dogs are a wonderful addition to any family however it is important to understand your responsibilities as a pet owner. Find out more

The activities and decisions of Litchfield Council have a significant impact on the health of our local and regional ecosystems and our community. Find out more

Council employs a Mobile Work Force of skilled operatives to provide slashing and weed control for Council’s land, road reserves and easements. Find out more

Council is the responsible authority for roads and pathways, stormwater drainage, waste, lighting and public open space within the municipality. Find out more

Litchfield Council has a broad annual capital works and maintenance program, designed to replace, maintain and improve infrastructure and facilities within Litchfield Municipality. Find out more

From 1 January 2018, Litchfield Council like other Top End Councils has taken ownership and maintenance of all streetlights on council roads. Find out more

View tender opportunities and previously awarded tenders. Find out more

Just a short drive off the Stuart Highway or McMillians Road you can find Thorak Regional Cemetery. Find out more

Litchfield Council provides waste management and recycling services to ratepayers, residents and commercial users through its three Waste Transfer Stations. Find out more