I am pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Kaylene Conrick as Litchfield Council’s new Chief Executive Officer.

Ms Conrick comes with a wealth of local government experience, and has previously held the role of CEO at two rural Victorian councils. Ms Conrick has exceptional skills in community engagement and governance which will greatly assist the council. Ms Conrick will work closely with the future Mayor and Elected Members to lead the organisation in the manner the community deserves.

The Election for a new council will be held Saturday 28 November.

The details of the candidates standing for election are available at www.ntec.nt.gov.au

Early voting is open until Friday 27 November, at Litchfield Council Office, Bendigo Bank Coolalinga, NT Electoral Commission Level 3 TCG Centre 80 Mitchell Street Darwin Wednesday to Thursday from 8.00am to 5.00pm (to 6.00pm Friday) Whitewood Hall Howard Park Reserve Thursday 8.00am to 5.00pm and Friday 8.00am to 6.00pm.

I again urge the community to exercise their democratic right to choose who will represent them on the council.

The public are welcome to attend the next Council Meeting at 6.30pm Monday 14 December in Council Chambers, 7 Bees Creek Road, Fred’s Pass. This is a great opportunity to meet the new council who will sign the declaration of office.

At the declaration of the election results my role as Official Manager will cease. I would like to take the opportunity to thank the staff and the community for the support they have given me in the role. I would especially like to thank Ben Dornier the Acting CEO for the outstanding job that he has done in the role. Ben will be staying on until the new CEO commences in mid-January 2016.