

SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES

LITCHFIELD COUNCIL MEETING

Minutes of Special Meeting held in the Council Chambers, Litchfield on Wednesday, 13 September 2017 at 6:00pm

Present Maree Bredhauer Mayor

Amber Sayers

Doug Barden Councillor South Ward
Kirsty Hunt Councillor East Ward
Mathew Salter Councillor North Ward
Christine Simpson Councillor Central Ward

Staff Kaylene Conrick Chief Executive Officer

Debbie Branson Executive Assistant

Public Kezia Purick Member for Goyder

Judith ColeFreds Pass BoardSue CowardLivingstone Reserve

Solomon Gatura Local Government Division, DH&CS

Girraween

David Kingston Litchfield Council
David Jan Litchfield Council

Jeremy Hunt Wagaman Pam Hunt Wagaman Margaret Keller **Bees Creek** Mat & Cheryl **Howard Springs** Ashton Simpson Girraween Trisha Simpson Girraween **Spencer Simpson** Girraween **Aaron Simpson** Virginia **H** Chow **Humpty Doo** A Sayer **Humpty Doo** P Sayer **Humpty Doo** Diana Rickard **Tumbling Waters**

Greg Chapman Tumbling Waters
Therese Blanzategui Fly Creek
Terry Foley Fly Creek
Sarah Lloyd Bakewell
Tracy Cranfield Muirhead

Gerard Bredhauer Humpty Doo Nick Sayers Humpty Doo Debbie Turner Humpty Doo

1. OPENING OF THE MEETING

The Chief Executive Officer opened the meeting and welcomed the special guests and members of the public.

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS

On behalf of Council, the Chief Executive Officer acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land on which the Council meet on. The Chief Executive Officer also conveyed Council's respect to the Elders past, present and future for their continuing custodianship of the land and the children of the land across generations.

3. APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

The Chief Executive Officer acknowledged apologies from the special guests:

Senator for the NT - Malarndirri McCarthy

Senator for the NT - Hon Nigel Scullion

Member for Lingiari – Warren Snowdon

Member for Nelson, Gerry Wood

Member for Daly, Gary Higgins

Kon Vaskalis, Lord Mayor City of Darwin

Mark Blackburn, Official Manager, City of Palmerston

Lee Williams, Executive Director, Local Government Division, Department of Housing and Community Service

John Maley, former President 1985-1986

Mary Walshe, former President 2003-2012

Frank Crawley – Former Official Manager 2015

Neville Driver, Public Officer – Palmerston & Rural Seniors

4. GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS

The Chief Executive Officer read the Statement of Results from the correspondence received by the Northern Territory Electoral Commission as follows:

Litchfield Mayor – Elected Candidate 1 – Elected Candidate - Maree Bredhauer Litchfield Council – South Ward Election of 1 Councillor – Elected Candidate - Doug Barden

Litchfield Council – East Ward Election of 1 Councillor – Elected Candidate - Kirsty Hunt Litchfield Council – North Ward Election of 1 Councillor – Elected Candidate - Mathew Salter

Litchfield Council – Central Ward Election of 1 Councillor – Elected Candidate - Christine Simpson

5. DECLARATION OF OFFICE - MAYOR

The Mayor made her Declaration of Office as the Mayor, signed the declaration and resumed the chair.

6. MAYORAL ADDRESS

The Mayor delivered a Mayoral Address to those in attendance.

7. DECLARATION OF OFFICE – CR BARDEN

Doug Barden made his Declaration of Office as Councillor for the South Ward and signed the declaration of office.

8. DECLARATION OF OFFICE – CR HUNT

Kirsty Hunt made her Declaration of Office as Councillor for the East Ward and signed the declaration of office.

9. DECLARATION OF OFFICE – CR SALTER

Mathew Salter made his Declaration of Office as Councillor for the North Ward and signed the declaration of office.

10. DECLARATION OF OFFICE – CR SIMPSON

Christine Simpson made her Declaration of Office as Councillor for the Central Ward and signed the declaration of office.

11. DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

The Mayor advised that any member of Council who may have a conflict of interest, or a possible conflict of interest regarding any item of business to be discussed at a Council meeting or a Committee meeting should declare the conflict of interest to enable Council to manage the conflict in accordance with its obligations under the Local Government Act and its policies regarding the same.

No interests were disclosed.

12. NORTHERN TERRITORY ELECTORAL COMMISSION – RECEIPT OF LETTER

Moved:

Cr Hunt

Seconded:

Cr Barden

THAT Council receive and note the correspondence from the Northern Territory Electoral Commission regarding the Statement of Results for the Council General Election 2017.

CARRIED-1718/043

13. PRESENTATIONS

Solomon Gatura, Acting Director, Legislation, Policy and Regions, Department of Housing & Community Development – Local Government Division delivered an address on behalf of the department.

14. OFFICERS REPORTS

14.1 Appointment of Deputy Principal Member

Moved:

Cr Simpson

Seconded:

Cr Barden

THAT Council adopt Council policy EM01 Elected Members.

CARRIED-1718/044

The Mayor will call for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Moved:

Cr Barden

Seconded:

Cr Simpson

I nominate, Councillor Hunt for the position of Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor enquires that the nominee accepts the nomination. Cr Hunt advised she accepted the nomination for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Mayor called for a vote on nominations.

THAT Councillor Hunt is duly elected as Deputy Mayor for a twelve-month term ending at the first ordinary council meeting held in September 2018.

CARRIED-1718/045

14.2 Chairperson Casting Vote Policy

Moved:

Cr Hunt

Seconded:

Cr Simpson

THAT Council adopt EM04 Casting Vote Policy, requiring the Chair of Council Meetings to exercise a casting vote during the event of an equality of votes.

CARRIED-1718/046

14.3 EM02 Code of Conduct

Moved:

Cr Simpson

Seconded:

Cr Hunt

THAT Council adopt the updated EM02 Code of Conduct for Elected Members.

CARRIED-1718/047

The Mayor and Councillors signed the Code of Conduct for Elected Members.

15. CLOSE OF MEETING

The Chair closed the meeting at 6:38pm.

16. NEXT MEETING

Wednesday, 20 September 2017.

MINUTES TO BE CONFIRMED

Wednesday 18 October 2017

Mayor of Litchfield

Maree Bredhauer

Chief Executive Officer

Kaylene Conrick

