You are here

Land & Infrastructure

A large proportion of Councils expenditure is spent on road maintenance which includes drain clearing, grading, patching, gravel re-sheeting, road shoulder repairs, line marking, resealing and road widening. Street signs, weed control, slashing, fire breaks and emergency repairs. Council presently maintains over 614km of sealed roads and 109km of unsealed roads.

Roads under jurisdiction of the NT Government within the Litchfield Municipality are: 

  • Stuart Highway
  • Arnhem Highway
  • Anzac Parade
  • Channel Island Road
  • Cox Peninsula Road
  • Darwin River Dam Road
  • Gunn Point Road
  • Howard Springs Road
  • Jenkins Road
  • Secrett Road
  • Wagait Road

These roads are NOT maintained by Litchfield Council. NT Government roads (listed above) please report through the NT Government Transport website. Radford Road is maintained by Palmerston City Council.

For all roads under Litchfield Council's responsibility Contact Us.

Property Accesses

Construction of new driveways and access roads are permitted on receiving a permit from Litchfield Council. Landowners/Occupiers are advised to contact the Litchfield Council Works Section by phone on (08) 89830600 email to or by post to - The Litchfield Council Works Section, PO Box 446 Humpty Doo NT 0836.

Damage - Roads and Signs

The Council encourages residents to report any potholes or other road maintenance issues which could compromise the safety of motorists.